Today’s featured photograph showcases a procession of early automobiles, led by a horse and buggy, along Hurontario Street between First and Second Streets for Collingwood’s Civic Parade on August 14, 1911. A line of well-dressed spectators appears along the sidewalk on the street’s west side.
The unbroken line of buildings, beginning at the photograph’s left side and ending just before the painted sign for White’s Hardware, is of particular interest as these two-storey buildings continue to stand into the present day.
In 1911, these buildings housed A.H. Johnson's Drug Store, the Canadian Pacific Railway Office, Telfer Bros., the Bank of Toronto, and the Enterprise Printing Office.
Today, these historic structures are home to Sushi Hon, the Blue Mountain Tea Company, One Love, Duncan’s Café, Madison Clothing Boutique, Collingwood Flowers and Home Decor, and 98 Super Panda.
A striking difference between the historic streetscape of 1911 and the present day is the absence of the Federal Building at 44 Hurontario Street. Just three years later, in 1914, the cornerstone for this iconic building would be laid between the Enterprise Printing Office and White’s Hardware.
A noticeable presence in the 1911 photograph is the decorative parapets that line the tops of the buildings. Today, these are noticeably absent, particularly the beautiful brick feature above 98 Super Panda.
Collingwood’s historic downtown is recognized on Canada’s Historic Places for its characteristic and well-preserved architecture, primarily the brick buildings erected along Hurontario Street between 1880 and 1920.
For additional information about Collingwood’s Downtown Heritage Conservation District, visit www.heritagecollingwood.com.
If you have a story to share about today’s featured photograph, please contact museum staff at email@example.com.
Remember This is a weekly series of historic photographs submitted by the Collingwood Museum to CollingwoodToday.ca. These photographs were originally collected and documented by the Huron Institute in an historical catalogue entitled Huron Institute Paper and Records: Volume III. Much of Collingwood’s early history has been preserved due to the dedication and foresight of the early museum’s founders, namely its secretary-curator David Williams, upon its establishment in 1904.