On this day (March 17) in 1942, Collingwood residents experienced a St. Patrick’s Day flood. Three photographs accompany today’s brief reflection, having been assigned the identifying letters “A,” “B,” and “C” by David Williams. This is an unusual numbering format as Williams often assigned secondary numbers, not letters, to photographs in a series.
Photographs “A” and “B” showcase Huron Street at the gate of the shipyard, while photograph “C” looks south on Raglan Street from Hume Street. William Shannon’s house in the foreground.
This timely series of photographs was not included in the Huron Institute’s Historical Catalogue (No. 1-2735). Instead, their respective descriptions appear in David Williams’ original handwriting. This unpublished catalogue of the Huron Institute’s photograph collection is held in the Collingwood Museum’s archives.
Remember This is a weekly series of historic photographs submitted by the Collingwood Museum to CollingwoodToday.ca. These photographs were originally collected and documented by the Huron Institute in an historical catalogue entitled Huron Institute Paper and Records: Volume III. Much of Collingwood’s early history has been preserved due to the dedication and foresight of the early museum’s founders, namely its secretary-curator David Williams, upon its establishment in 1904.