Skip to content

Bruce-Grey-Owen Sound stays conservative with new MPP

Rick Byers won the riding and will be headed to Queen's Park as the local representative
Rick Byers Bill Walker
Bruce-Grey-Owen Sound MPP Bill Walker with MPP-elect Rick Byers at the Markdale Hospital site during the campaign.

Bruce-Grey-Owen Sound elected a Progressive Conservative MPP once again with newcomer Rick Byers winning the most votes during tonight’s provincial election. 

Byers won 48 per cent of the vote (18,814 votes), with 85 of 97 poll results reported. 

The former MPP, Bill Walker, was also a PC and he followed fellow party member Bill Murdoch. Walker announced earlier this year he would not be seeking re-election.

Liberal candidate Selwyn Hicks, who’s on leave from his position as warden of Grey County, was second in the riding with 7,961 votes (20.5 per cent). Karen Gventer, NDP, won 5,478 votes (14 per cent) and Green Party candidate Danielle Valiquette won 3,450 votes (8.9 per cent). 

Based on the 85 polls reported, about 43 per cent of the 89,698 eligible voters in the riding cast ballots. 

Results are unofficial for now. 

Currently, the province-wide results show the PCs with 83 seats for a majority government, the NDP with 31 as the official opposition, the Liberal party with eight seats, and one seat for the Green Party. One independent candidate was elected.