Skip to content

TBM had 26 staffers on 2022 Sunshine List

Provincial legislation requires the disclosure of all town employees earning $100,000 or more
Town Hall
The Blue Mountains Town Hall

The Town of The Blue Mountains had 26 members of staff on the 2022 Sunshine List.

By provincial legislation (Public Sector Salary Disclosure Act, 1996), the town is required to disclose to the Ministry of Finance the names, positions, salaries and taxable benefits of all employees paid $100,000 more during the year. The province publishes those disclosures, and the annual release is called the Sunshine List. 

The town released its disclosure in advance of the province releasing the 2022 list. 

The 26 staff from Town of The Blue Mountains who made $100,000 or more last year includes:

  • Shawn Everitt, Chief Administrative Officer, Salary: $211,382.42 Benefit: $1,740.01.
  • Ruth Prince, Director of Finance and Information Technology Services, Salary: $145,827.50 Benefit: $1,740.01.
  • Shawn Carey, Director of Operations, Salary: $145,744.34 Benefit: $1,740.01.
  • Ryan Gibbons, Director of Community Services, Salary: $145,723.55 Benefit: $1,707.48.
  • William Thomson, Director of Legal Services, Salary: $145,516.00 Benefit: $1,740.01.
  • Sabrina Saunders, Chief Executive Officer Library, Salary: $131,461.98 Benefit: $1,719.54.
  • Corrina Giles, Town Clerk, Salary: $124,210.61 Benefit: $1,642.72.
  • Stephen Conn, Fire Chief, Salary: $123,794.54 Benefit: $1,740.01.
  • Timothy Murawsky, Manager Building Services Chief Building Official, Salary: $123,470.07 Benefit: $1,642.72.
  • Mike Keeling, Fire Prevention Officer/Suppression, Salary: $120,952.84 Benefit: $1,541.92.
  • Duncan Rydall, Chief Fire Prevention Officer, Salary: $117,875.78 Benefit: $1,617.09.
  • Darren Johnston, Training Officer/Suppression, Salary: $117,667.80 Benefit: $1,541.92.
  • Timothy Hendry, Manager Communications and Economic Development, Salary: $117,652.60 Benefit: $1,536.80.
  • Brian Worsley, Manager of Development Engineering, Salary: $117,086.04 Benefit: $1,586.34.
  • Sarah Traynor, Manager of Human Resources, Salary: $115,319.78 Benefit: $1,610.22.
  • Allison Kershaw, Manager of Water and Wastewater Services, Salary: $115,195.76 Benefit: $1,570.99.
  • Sam Dinsmore, Deputy-Treasurer/Manager of Budgets and Accounting, Salary: $114,691.93 Benefit: $1,586.34.
  • James McCannell, Manager of Roads and Drainage, Salary: $113,717.28 Benefit: $4,923.35.
  • Aaron McMullen, Manager Beaver Valley Community Centre, Facilities, Tomahawk Golf Course, Salary: $113,334.88 Benefit: $1,552.22.
  • Shawn Postma, Manager of Community Planning, Salary: $104,926.17 Benefit: $1,372.92.
  • Jeffery Fletcher, Manager of Sustainability and Solid Waste, Salary: $102,000.14 Benefit: $1,320.34.
  • Scott Wright, Fire Inspector/Suppression, Salary: $101,987.18 Benefit: $2,396.45.
  • Amy Moore, Manager of Revenue, Salary: $101,219.56 Benefit: $1,322.52.
  • Michael Campbell, Senior Infrastructure Capital Project Coordinator, Salary: $101,013.86 Benefit: $1,356.44.
  • Dax McAllister, Roads and Drainage Supervisor, Salary: $100,498.67 Benefit: $1,350.75.

Since the Sunshine List was established in 1996, the threshold for disclosure (salaries of $100,000) has not changed. According to the government of Ontario website used for Sunshine List disclosure, the Canadian Consumer Price Index has increased by 54 per cent between 1996 and 2020. 

If the original threshold established in 1996 followed inflation, the 2018 Ontario list would have been reduced by 87 per cent (from 205,470 people in 2020 to 26,245 people). There were 4,494 people on the Sunshine List when it came out in 1996.

Based on purchasing power parity, a salary of $100,000 in 2020 is equivalent to a salary of $64,889 in 1996.

Reader Feedback

About the Author: Chris Fell, Local Journalism Initiative reporter

Chris Fell covers The Blue Mountains and Grey Highlands under the Local Journalism Initiative, which is funded by the Government of Canada
Read more