Skip to content

New Bluewater school board takes office

Trustee Jane Thomson was acclaimed chair for the third straight one-year term.
Back row from left: Derrick Long, Jane Thomson (Chair), Fran Morgan, Janice Kaikkonen, Michael Craig. Front row from left: Tracy Lynn Atkinson, Jan Johnstone (Vice-Chair), Katie Lutz, Marilyn McComb.

The Bluewater District School Board has held its inaugural meeting.

The newly elected and acclaimed trustees took office at the board’s inaugural meeting held on Tuesday, Nov. 15.

The board members for the coming term are:

Tracy Lynn Atkinson - Municipality of West Grey/Town of Hanover

Michael Craig - City of Owen Sound

Jan Johnstone - Municipality of Kincardine/Township of Huron-Kinloss

Janice Kaikkonen - Township of Southgate/Municipality of Grey Highlands

Derrick Long - Municipality of Brockton/Municipality of South Bruce

Katie Lutz - Town of Saugeen Shores/Municipality of Arran-Elderslie

Marilyn McComb - Township of Georgian Bluffs/Township of Chatsworth

Fran Morgan - Municipality of Meaford/Town of The Blue Mountains

Jane Thomson - Town of South Bruce Peninsula/Municipality of Northern Bruce Peninsula

At the meeting, the board held the annual election of its chair and trustee Jane Thomson was acclaimed to the position, which she will hold for the third consecutive one-year term. Trustee Jan Johnstone was acclaimed as vice-chair, a role she will also fulfil for a third consecutive one-year term.

Director of Education Lori Wilder also delivered her annual report recapping the board’s efforts and achievements over the past year. The director’s annual report can be found here.

Reader Feedback

About the Author: Chris Fell, Local Journalism Initiative reporter

Chris Fell covers The Blue Mountains and Grey Highlands under the Local Journalism Initiative, which is funded by the Government of Canada
Read more