Skip to content

Two more makes eight candidates for town councillor

There are now eight candidates who have filed to run for a councillor seat in the Collingwood municipal election.
election AdobeStock2
Stock image

Two more candidates have filed to run for councillor positions in the upcoming Collingwood municipal election.

There are now officially enough candidates to fill all council positions with eight running for councillor seats, one for deputy mayor and two for mayor.

The newest candidates are Jason Booth and George Dickenson. They join six others running for councillor positions including: Stuart Beeston, Steve Berman, Shawn Cooper, Deb Doherty, Cam Ecclestone and Kathy Jeffery. The latter three on the list are incumbent councillors.

So far, there are two candidates for mayor: former OPP detachment commander John Trude and current deputy mayor Brian Saunderson.

Current councillor Tim Fryer is the lone candidate for deputy mayor thus far.

The municipal election also includes school board trustees. Hugh Caulfield of Wasaga Beach has filed papers to run for the English public school board trustee. Eric Lapointe of Barrie has filed to run for the French public school board trustee position.

Donald Blais of Bradford and Claire Thibideau of Barrie are both for the French separate school board trustee position.

The election will be held Oct. 22 and votes will be received online or by phone. Nominations close on Friday, July 27.

Reader Feedback

Erika Engel

About the Author: Erika Engel

Erika regularly covers all things news in Collingwood as a reporter and editor. She has 15 years of experience as a local journalist
Read more