Skip to content

Here's what you need to know about voting changes for the municipal election

Voting will take place online or by phone this year with a ten-day voting period.
Adobe Smartgirl
stock photo

Voting in the upcoming municipal election will be different from previous years.

This time all voting will be done online or by telephone.

According to the Town of Collingwood website, online and phone voting will provide faster results and greater accessibility for more voters.

There will be two information sessions on the new phone and online voting system in Collingwood. The first will take place Tuesday, Aug. 28 at 7 p.m. at the Blue Mountains Town Hall, the next will take place Friday, Aug. 31 at 1 p.m. at the Collingwood Public Library on the third floor.

The town has extended an offer to local organizations wishing to host their own information session to contact the town by email ( or phone at 705-445-1030. There is also a video on how to cast your ballot online here.

If you are a Collingwood resident and you are on the voters list, you will receive a letter by mail with your voter login information and unique pin number. You will need this information to vote online or by phone.

To make sure you’re on the voters list or to add your name, and verify your mailing address, click here. Since you’re receiving your voter login information via mail, it’s important to verify your mailing address.

Election day is Oct. 22, 2018, but voting opens at 10 a.m. on Oct. 12 and will run until 8 p.m. on Oct. 22.

Voters in Collingwood will elect a mayor, deputy mayor, seven councillors and school board trustees.

Collingwood mayoral candidates include Michael Blair, Brian Saunderson and John Trude. Deputy mayor candidates include Ian Chadwick and Keith Hull. There are 19 candidates for councillor including: Stephen Aldred, Christopher Baines, Stuart Beeston, Steve Berman, Jason Booth, Nick Brindisi, Tina Comi, Shawn Cooper, George Dickenson, Deb Doherty, Cam Ecclestone, Tim Fryer, Sal Greco, Yvonne Hamlin, Kathy Jeffery, Kathleen Knoll, Bob Madigan, Mariane McLeod and Dale West.

School board trustee candidates include Hugh Caulfield, Brian McWilliams, Rob Potter and Tanya Snell for English Public School Board; Peter Fracassi for English Separate School Board; Guy Belcourt, Saveria Caruso and Eric Lapointe for French Public School Board; and Ryan Malenfant and Claire Thibideau for French Separate School Board.

A full candidate list with contact information is available here.

Erika Engel

About the Author: Erika Engel

Erika regularly covers all things news in Collingwood as a reporter, photographer and community editor.
Read more