Skip to content

RESULTS ROUNDUP: Conservative strongholds in Simcoe County remain

Here is a summary of the election results in Simcoe County and area

The voters of Simcoe-Grey re-elected Conservative incumbent Terry Dowdall, a trend seen across Simcoe County ridings in this federal election. 

Based on the unofficial results from Elections Canada, which don't yet include mail-in votes Dowdall received 47.1 per cent of the local vote, followed by the local Liberal candidate Bren Munro, who received 27.5 per cent of the vote. 

The Conservative vote was higher this year in the riding compared to 43.5 per cent of the vote for Dowdall in 2019.

Liberal support was down in Simcoe Grey. In 2019, Lorne Kenney won 31.7 per cent of the local vote.

The NDP had a stronger showing in the riding this year, securing 13.5 per cent of the vote in 2021 over 11.2 per cent in 2019. 

Adam Minatel, the candidate for the People's Party finished with 7.5 per cent of the Simcoe-Grey vote.

Support for the PPC in the riding increased from 1.9 per cent of the vote (1,416 votes) in the 2019 election. 

The Green Party saw a sharp decrease in support this time with Nick Clayton of the Green Party securing 3.9 per cent of the vote in 2021, down from 11.4 per cent in the 2019 election for Sherri Jackson.

Ken Stouffer, the Christian Heritage Party candidate had 373 votes, which is about 0.5 per cent of the total ballots counted.

In Simcoe-Grey, 71,683 ballots have been counted with one more polling station still not tallied and reported. In 2019, there were 75,509 valid ballots cast in Simcoe Grey (492 were rejected). 

The unofficial voter turnout rate for the riding in 2019 was about 59 per cent, which is currently lower than the 64 per cent turnout recorded in 2019.

The vote breakdown is as follows (and is not yet final): 

  • Terry Dowdall, Conservative: 33,734 votes
  • Bren Munro, Liberal: 19,721 votes
  • Lucas Gillies, NDP: 9,684 votes
  • Adam Minatel, PPC: 5,374 
  • Nick Clayton, Green: 2,797

In Bruce-Grey-Owen Sound incumbent MP Alex Ruff was re-elected with 49.4 per cent of the vote in the unofficial results. 

The Liberal candidate Anne Marie Watson was second with 24.8 per cent of the vote, followed by NDP Christopher Neudorf with 13.7 per cent, then the PPC candidate Anna-Marie Fosbrooke with 8.2 per cent. Independent candidate Reima Kaikkonen has 0.9 per cent of the vote, and the Green Party's Ashley Michelle Lawrence has three per cent.

In Simcoe-North, Adam Chambers won his first election, taking on the Conservative mantle from long-time MP Bruce Stanton. 

Conservative and incumbent Doug Shipley won another term in Barrie-Springwater-Oro-Medonte. 

Barrie-Innisfil re-elected Conservative MP John Brassard for a third term. 

Conservative Scott Davidson was elected in the York-Simcoe riding.  

Nationally, voter turnout right now is about 58.44 per cent, which is a drop from 2019 when there was a 67 per cent turnout. 

The national results available right now have 98.98 per cent of the polls reporting. So far, the results translate into 15.9 million people out of an eligible 27.3 million cast a ballot.

The Liberal Party has won another minority government, with Justin Trudeau heading back for his third term as Prime Minister.

Nationally, there was 32.2 per cent support for the Liberals who have picked up 158 seats so far. 

With 35.2 per cent of the vote, the Conservatives have 119 seats, the Bloc Quebecois have 10.1 per cent of the vote and 34 seats, and the NDP have 7.4 per cent of the vote with 25 seats. The Green Party has two seats with 0.6 per cent of the vote.

-With files from Maija Hoggett

Reader Feedback

Erika Engel

About the Author: Erika Engel

Erika regularly covers all things news in Collingwood as a reporter and editor. She has 15 years of experience as a local journalist
Read more