Skip to content

Adopt Me: Piper is looking for an active family

He is good with other dogs, but not cats or small animals
Piper 6

CollingwoodToday, in partnership with the Georgian Triangle Humane Society, brings you a regular feature highlighting a special pet that is in need of adoption.


Hi everyone, my name is Piper. I'm one handsome hound doggie looking for a new place to call home. I'm a distinguished gentleman at about six years old and am just shy of 60lbs.

I arrived at the GTHS with a couple of my family members when some things changed for our humans and they were no longer able to give us the care we needed. So, here I am, ready and excited about my future!

Now, the humans here say that I'm an "outdoor" working dog who likely hasn't done a lot of indoor living. So, the GTHS humans sure are pleased with how I've settled in here at the Animal Centre so far! I've done very well and am adjusting to my new routine and environment very smoothly.

I've been a very polite and friendly boy with all the humans I've met so far at GTHS. My previous family said I was great with the kids I've interacted with too.

I'm just a happy boy who is soaking up all the love these humans have to offer while I wait to find my new family.

I really love getting out for walks. Sniffing and exploring new trails and new places is so much fun! So, I hope I'll find an active human or family who will take me for lots of walks and hikes and anything that means just enjoying the outdoors together.

I'll admit though, sometimes on walks, I get a bit excited about new smells and will try to pull you closer so I can investigate... So, maybe a little work on my leash manners is needed (hehe oops).

I've also been a very polite boy with the doggie friends I've met here at GTHS too. Some I got into a really good play with and with others, I'd just give a little sniff and carry on with my business.

I will say that I need a home without cats or tiny critters, please. I have what the humans call a "prey drive".

Overall, I'm just a kind boy with a great temperament who is looking for a new family to love. I sure would appreciate some extra time, patience, and understanding as I learn about indoor doggy living and figure out my new home and our new life together. In return, I'll be your faithful sidekick and best bud - promise!

My adoption fee is $400 and includes my neuter, up-to-date vaccinations, de-wormer, and a microchip. I am so excited to meet you soon!

Wags and sniffs,
xoxo Piper

*If you are interested in adopting me, please visit our main adoptions page ( for instructions on our modified covid adoption process*


Unable to adopt? Share this feature on social media so each animal can get the exposure it needs and find a loving home.

To see past featured animals who may still need adopting click here.