Skip to content

Adopt Me Hank is a happy dog

He would do best with an active family

CollingwoodToday, in partnership with the Georgian Triangle Humane Society, brings you a regular feature highlighting a special pet that is in need of adoption.


Hey everyone,

My name is Hank!

I'm one sweet "teenage" boy of about 10 months and at over 70lbs already, I still have some growing to do, so could end up being quite a big boy!

I arrived here at the GTHS Animal Center a little while ago after some things changed at home and my humans could no longer give me the time and care they knew I deserved. So, they made the decision that was best for me, and that was for me to come here to Animal Center so the GTHS humans can find me a fun new family to love!

Even though I'm sweet as can be, I am a bit of a nervous and unsure kind of guy. Once I settled in here at GTHS though, the humans saw my true friendly self start to shine.

Once I feel comfortable with my surroundings, my happy demeanour seems to instantly win everyone over hehe, I greet all people with a smiley face, and wagging tail!

I've been doing a great job learning my obedience basics too and already know "sit", "down" and "paw".

I am also a big-time water doggie! I love the doggie pool at GTHS and hope my new family will allow me to indulge by taking me for lots of swimming adventures or maybe having some backyard fun with the hose and a pool of my very own.

I sure do hope my new family will be fun, outdoorsy, and active like me! I love my outside time (and water, don't forget hehe) and hope I'll get lots of backyard playtime and walks in my new home. I, admittedly, do need a little work on my leash manners...hehe but with a little guidance and consistency, I know I'll be your perfect walking buddy in no time!

Now although the GTHS humans can't be sure, they do say they've seen some indications of "prey drive", so, living in a home with tiny animals (like kitties) might not be best for a guy like me. I'd also like to be your one and only dog, please. I can be a bit "choosy" about my dog friends, so being the only dog at home would be best for a guy like me. It sure would be great if my new human or family has some dog experience and I can help continue my socialization with other dogs, ensuring proper, slow, and positive introductions and interactions.

Now, speaking of being choosy with dog friends and being a bit of a nervous pup, I should let you know that my previous doggie doctor had me on some special medicine to help make me feel better. I think the humans call them anxiety pills.

The GTHS humans have kept me on my special medicine and it sure does help! Don't worry, they will give you lots of information about this and will send me home with some too, to help my transition be as successful as possible! Hopefully, down the road, I might not even need them anymore, but for now, they help me be a happy and calmer Hank!

I know I will fit into just about an experienced home who is interested in adding a happy, friendly young dog to their family, as long as they don't mind continuing to work with me a bit. Just remember, please be patient with me while I settle into my new home and give me some time to learn our new routine together! In return, I promise you'll be getting the best doggie friend, companion, and sidekick you could ever hope for!

My adoption fee is $400 and includes my neuter, up-to-date vaccinations, dewormer, and a microchip.

Fluffy wags,

xoxo Hank

*If you are interested in adopting me, please visit our main adoptions page ( for instructions on our modified covid adoption process*


Unable to adopt? Share this feature on social media so each animal can get the exposure it needs and find a loving home.

To see past featured animals who may still need adopting click here.