Skip to content

Adopt Me: Draco the big fluffy dog

He would prefer a home with adults only
Draco 2

CollingwoodToday, in partnership with the Georgian Triangle Humane Society, brings you a regular feature highlighting a special pet that is in need of adoption.


My name is Draco! I'm a big fluffy polar bear looking boy who is searching for a special family to open their heart and home to me. I'm still a young guy at about 3-years-old and am about 70lbs of white wonderfulness!

I arrived at the GTHS Animal Center pretty recently after being transferred in as a stray doggie. So, my background is a bit of a question mark, but, let me tell you what the GTHS humans DO know about me!

I'm what the humans call a "Livestock Guardian Breed." This means that I'm a specific type of doggie, looking for a specific type of home with a specific type of owner!

It will be very important that I find a human who has experience with breeds like Great Pyrenees or Maremmas or has at least done extensive research to ensure that we will be compatible! After all, we all want to make sure I'm the right kind of dog for you and that you're the right kind of human for me, right?!

As I'm sure you guessed from the name, Guardian Breeds are working dogs who are bred to protect livestock when no one is around! This means that I can be quite the independent guy and that I have a knack for problem-solving too!! I also have no problem "sounding the alarm" when I think there is something suspicious around! I am a "guard" dog, after all! So, I hope you don't mind some alert barks! But don't let that fool you into thinking I'm not a big, friendly cloud, because I am!

All of that said, it is important to let you know that I'm still extremely "puppyish" in a lot of ways. I think this whole 'living inside' is a bit of a new concept to me, so I'm VERY curious and excited about it. You'll need to be very patient and consistent with me, helping me learn my manners and obedience basics. I do also exhibit a behaviour the humans refer to as "jumpy mouthy" and so I'll be looking for some strong and experienced handlers to continue working with me on this.

For this reason, I'm also asking to find a home with adults only, please (18+).

It probably goes without saying but I'm a VERY active guy too. I'll need a family who can meet my exercise requirements and who is willing to take me on lots of nice walks and hikes each day, do lots of enrichment with me, and/or maybe the occasional romp with a doggie friend! I've been making lots of doggies friends here at GTHS and I've been a very polite boy and great play partner for my kennel mates.

Overall, I'm just a big, sweet, friendly boy who needs some guidance, leadership, and an experienced owner who understands my jumpy mouthy behaviour and (ideally) who is familiar with working breeds or Livestock Guardians in particular.

The GTHS humans are really just trying to ensure I find my very best placement so that I can be the very best Draco possible for my new family.

My adoption fee is $400 and includes my neuter, up-to-date vaccinations, dewormer, and a microchip! I can't wait to meet you soon!

Fluffy wags,

xoxo Draco


Unable to adopt? Share this feature on social media so each animal can get the exposure it needs and find a loving home.

To see past featured animals who may still need adopting click here.