Skip to content

Adopt Me: Dara is a handsome young man

He enjoys walks and spending time outside
058A3315_DARA_websize (1)

CollingwoodToday, in partnership with the Georgian Triangle Humane Society, brings you a regular feature highlighting a special pet that is in need of adoption.


Hey everyone,

My name is Dara (dar-uh). I know, I know... people ALWAYS mistake me for a girl (so embarrassing)!

I'm a very cute and handsome young MAN at around 2 years old and a really lovely size too at about 45lbs. I arrived here at the GTHS Animal Center a little while ago after some things changed at home and my humans could no longer give me the time and care they knew I deserved. So, they made the decision that was best for me and that was for me to come here to Animal Center so the GTHS humans can find me a fun new family to love!

I'm a very happy, friendly boy and just love all engagement and interactions with the humans here! I've been off to a great start with my obedience basics too and sure hope that my new family will continue working with me and helping me learn. Oh, and I hope my new family will be fun, outdoorsy, and active like me too. I love my outside time and my walks. My leash manners are quite good, though sometimes I need the occasional reminder not to pull. Oops! The cherry on top would be having a nice big fenced yard! I can lounge outside or we could have fun playtime out there together too!

Now although the GTHS humans can't be sure, they do say they've seen some indications of "prey drive", so, living in a home with tiny animals (like kitties) might not be best for a guy like me.

When it comes to other doggies, I do a bit of a behaviour that the people call "reactivity." This is mostly when I'm on a leash but the GTHS humans have been doing some great work with me and I'm already making progress! So far, I've done quite well with the other GTHS dogs when we're out on pack walks and although I'm not the biggest fan of playtime with other dogs, I've been respectful of my dog friends and tend to just do my own thing when we're out in the yard together.

Based on all of this, having a dog experienced human who can continue to help me with my socialization would be fantastic! Oh, and the GTHS humans think that maybe no young kids for me would be best (or at least no young kids who will be in charge of taking me for walks, since I'm still working on my reactivity).

The only other thing I will make sure I tell you about is that some very loud noises (like fireworks, for example) scare the bejeezis out of me! So, please be mindful of this when you first bring me home and while I'm settling in, but also a good reminder for our life together.

I just know I will fit into just about an experienced home who is interested in adding a happy, friendly young dog to their family, as long as they don't mind continuing to work with me a bit! Just remember, please be patient with me while I settle into my new home and give me some time to learn our new routine together! In return, I promise I'll be your new best friend furever.

My adoption fee is $400 and includes my neuter, up-to-date vaccinations, dewormer, and a microchip!


xoxo Dara

*If you are interested in adopting me, please visit our main adoptions page ( for instructions on our modified covid adoption process*


Unable to adopt? Share this feature on social media so each animal can get the exposure it needs and find a loving home.

To see past featured animals who may still need adopting click here.