Skip to content

Adopt Me: Caesar is a very friendly and loving guy (adopted)

He'd do best in a home with no young children
2021-12-21 - AM Caesar
This chatty boy loves being outside and going for walks.

CollingwoodToday, in partnership with the Georgian Triangle Humane Society, brings you a regular feature highlighting a special pet that is in need of adoption.



Hey everyone!

My name is Caesar and I sure am ready to find myself a fun family!

I'm a very friendly and loving guy here at GTHS and have been having so much fun getting to know everyone! At about 1.5 years old and 85 lbs, I'm a pretty good-sized boy already and just can't wait to start this exciting new chapter with my special someone! Yes, I am looking for a bit of a special home and human! But I'll tell you more about that in a minute.

You probably guessed it but yes, just like so many others around here, I'm a Northern boy too! A whole bunch of other doggies and puppies and I recently made the very long trip to GTHS from way the heck up on Northern Ontario. It was such a long journey but I'm so happy to have arrived and am enjoying settling into my new Southern life!

Since my time here at GTHS, I've been working hard with the GTHS humans to improve some of my doggy manners (but if I'm being honest, I have lots to learn!) But, guess what I know SIT !! Yea for me!!

The humans here say I can be a bit of a Chatty Cathy sometimes (though I can't say I know exactly what that means) but I do tend to get a little vocal if I'm unsure or nervous about some things...or you know, just protesting or feeling talkative...I am a husky mix, after all! Based on my talks, may be no condos or apartments for this guy. We don't want any upset neighbours!

I LOVE being outside and sure do love walk time but could use a little work on my leash skills too. Oh, here's another example of my chattiness. Sometimes I'm so excited to get going places that when I feel like leash pressure, I'll start talking to you, letting you know I'd like to move a bit quicker, please! (I know...maybe that's a bit rude haha but I'm working on my manners, remember!) I just need a patient and experienced human to continue working with me on all this stuff so that I can be the best Caesar I can be for you!

I do need to let you know though that I'm a bit... ‘protective'... of my ‘things' (like toys or food in particular. I'm sorry, it's just so yummy, I can't help it!).

It will be important for my new family to understand this behaviour the humans call "Resource Guarding" and help me work through it and manage it properly. Don't worry though, there's lots of great information that the GTHS humans will share with my new family to help set me up for success in my new home. Due to this, I would ask to please find a home with no young children (14+).

Keeping this in mind, I could likely do just fine in a home with another dog if we have an experienced human who can manage this behaviour, feed us separately, watch shared toys and ensure we're both set up for success! Or! I'm more than happy to be your one and only!!

Also, as a Northern boy, my owners need to have realistic expectations in that I may display some puppy-like behaviours such as vocalizing, house soiling, and destructiveness when not supervised in the home. Overall, I'm just a very chill young boy looking for my perfect person!

Oh, and I guess you're wondering about this "Special Paws" thing...

Well, after my visit with the doggie doctor, I had some tests done and the humans found out that I have something called Lyme disease.

I know, I know, it sounds scary but really it's not! Even though I have it, I am showing no signs of it right now and in a lot of cases, doggies like me will never show any signs, so often times people don't even know we have it!

Anyways, don't worry, if you think I sound like a great fit for you and your lifestyle, the GTHS Adoption Team will be happy to give you lots more information about Lyme and what that means!

And as part of the Special Paws Program, the GTHS humans have also lowered my Adoption fee to $100 to ensure I find my perfect home who will always make sure I'm in tiptop shape!

My Special Paws adoption fee is $100 and includes my neuter, up-to-date vaccinations, dewormer, and a microchip.

So, come on! Hurry up and find me so we can start our fun new life together!

Cool guy
xoxo Caesar

*If you are interested in adopting me, please visit our main adoptions page ( for instructions on our modified covid adoption process*


Unable to adopt? Share this feature on social media so each animal can get the exposure it needs and find a loving home.

To see past featured animals who may still need adopting click here.