Skip to content

Adopt Me: Sesame needs an understanding owner (adopted)

He is looking for an adult-only home with no small animals
Sesame 1

CollingwoodToday, in partnership with the Georgian Triangle Humane Society, brings you a regular feature highlighting a special pet that is in need of adoption.


Hi humans it's me, Sesame, and I'm here at GTHS to find myself a new home to call my own! I'm a big (70lb), handsome two-year-old boy who is looking for a very special someone to bond with, work with and share my life with.

I arrived at the GTHS a little while ago now after being found as a stray, if you can believe it! Everyone looked for my humans but no one ever came forward to claim me... but I'm trying not to focus on the past. I'm just excited about my future with my new human.

I will start by saying that it definitely took me a while to settle in here at GTHS and get to know everyone. I was a very fearful boy at first and it took some time before I would allow the GTHS humans to get to know me.

So, it will be very important that my new human or family is understanding of this and has experience with fearful dogs. Very important! Being able to read my body language, identify when I'm unsure and then respond accordingly will be a valuable exercise to help me continue all the great progress I've made here at GTHS so far.

Due to this nervousness, I will also be looking to find an adult-only home please (with maybe no cats or small creatures... hehe too tempting).

The GTHS humans are also recommended a nice fenced backyard for me too, as there is NOTHING I love more than being outside! Sometimes I can be a bit of a chatty boy though... so I sure hope your neighbours won't mind hearing me tell some of my stories. *grin*

I have really opened up to the GTHS humans now that I've gotten to know them and LOVE when they come and do training work with me or take me for a walk or let me play in the dog yard.

They say my leash manners are quite lovely (which is good because I seriously love, love, love walk time!), so I hope I'll find an active family who will take me for lots of great outdoor adventures. And although I wouldn't necessarily say I get into play, I have been a very polite boy and good with the other doggies I've met here at GTHS too.

I really am such a good guy! I'm loving, intelligent but independent (so I hope you're not looking for a cuddler haha) and really, more than anything, just hope I can find an experienced, kind and patient owner to help me through some of my fear and worries. The GTHS humans also suspect I'm likely a Chow mix, which is certainly a breed you should research and understand before considering bringing one home. So, breed knowledge and/or experience sure would be great too!

For such a big and strong looking guy, I really am quite sensitive and just require a little extra time and space to adjust to new places and new things. That's understandable though, isn't it?

So, if you have the experience and home environment that I need and are looking for an outdoorsy best bud to become your lifelong sidekick, then I hope you'll consider me.

My adoption fee is $400 and includes my neuter, up to date vaccinations, de-wormer and a microchip. I can't wait to find my special someone soon!

xoxo Sesame

*If you are interested in adopting me, please visit our main adoptions page ( for instructions on our modified COVID adoption process*


Unable to adopt? Share this feature on social media so each animal can get the exposure it needs and find a loving home.

To see past featured animals who may still need adopting click here.